Copyright 2011
The Priest Lake Museum Association
Contact Us:
PO Box 44, Coolin, ID 83821
208-443-2676
priestlakemuseum@gmail.com
2011
In 1989, an opportunity occurred to join hands with the Panhandle National Forest in an effort called the 'Luby Bay Project'. It was and remains a partnership between the U.S. Forest Service and the Priest Lake Museum Association.
2009
2008
2007
2004
2010
The Priest Lake Museum Association functioned without a central location for the first decade of its existence, focusing on the collection of historical photographs and the creation of traveling exhibits.
2006
In 1979, Doug Urquhart, a long time friend of the lake, gave Lois Hill $300 to initiate an effort to organize a group motivated to collect and preserve the lake's history. It's the result of the tenacious effort of a small group of volunteers who wanted visitors and residents to be aware of the area's past.
2005
THE PRIEST LAKE MUSEUM
2003
Priest Lake Museum Association * 208-443-2676 * 38 Priest Lake Museum Rd, Priest Lake, ID 83856
2002
The Mission of the Priest Lake Museum Association is to collect and make available to the public the history of the Priest Lake region, including the natural and cultural characteristics making Priest Lake unique. The Association's major function shall be to preserve, prepare and display for the general public any materials that may help to illustrate early exploration, settlement and development of the region.
The Association will maintain a museum for such purposes, and serve as a focal point for public interest, enjoyment, education, research and information.
2001
In June 1990, the Priest Lake Museum and Visitor Center opened its doors to the public in a building provided by the U.S. Forest Service. Since then it has steadily grown and thrived, thanks to a supporting community who protects the past and cares for the future.
2000
1999
The Priest Lake Museum Association publishes and sends out an annual Newsletter to its members and volunteers. We have included downloadable PDFs of our newsletters for your convenience. Feel free to browse through the history of the Priest Lake Museum Association and see how we have grown through the years.
1998
Property of the Priest Lake Museum. 1927 USFS Map with all Ranger Stations marked.
1994
1984
1996
PLMA Newsletters
1995
The Museum building has its own rich and unique history. The cabin was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps in 1935 as a Ranger Station and sits on Forest Service Land. The building served as the U.S. Forest Service Ranger's home and office until 1960 when it became U.S. Forest Service employee housing until 1988.
1993
Property of the Priest Lake Museum. Image of the pathway leading to the lakefront from the front door otf the Luby Bay Ranger Station (the current Priest Lake Museum Building.
The Priest Lake Museum was featured in an article in the Bonner County Daily Bee on September 16, 2012.

Click here to read the article
2012
2014